web banner

February 29- March 4 in Galveston, TX

2016 Title Sponsor

2016 Exhibitor Information

It is my pleasure on behalf of the City of Galveston PARD to invite the Texas Recreation and Park Society to Galveston for the 2016 TRAPS Institute & Expo. It has been many years since the convention has been in Galveston; and we are excited about welcoming you back to the Island!

Barbara Sanderson
Galveston Parks and Recreation Department

Institute & Expo Registration

Check out this year's Schedule at a Glance *As of 12.3.15*

Early Registration Deadline is February 5, 2016

Register Online HERE | Download Registration form HERE

Institute Program

Educational Sessions- Descriptions and Outcomes

Statewide Maintenance Rodeo Wednesday, March 2nd | 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Sponsored by: Discount Playground Supply

The rodeo will feature participants from all 5 regional districts in Texas and will be held in the parking lot behind the San Luis Hotel. Events will include: Truck/Trailer, Irrigation Assembly, Backpack Blower, Nail Driving, Plant Identification, Backhoe and Mower Obstacle Course. The team with the most points will be "crowned" state champions! 

Online Rodeo Registration HERE | Download Rodeo Registration form HERE

CAPRA Accreditation Training Friday, March 4th | 8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. | Spinnaker

The Commission for Accreditation of Park and Recreation Agencies (CAPRA) accredits departments and agencies that provide park and recreation programs and services. Agency accreditation is available to all entities administering park and recreation systems, including municipalities, townships, counties, special districts and regional authorities, councils of government, schools, and military installations.

The CAPRA Training Program is designed for agencies considering accreditation and prospective CAPRA visitors, is CEU eligible, and includes the following:

  • Review of all accreditation standards
  • Discussion of how best to prepare for accreditation review
  • Overview of costs and timeline
  • Opportunity for question and answers

CLICK HERE to download the registration form

Social & Networking

TRAPS Golf Tournament: Tuesday, March 1st | Noon - 5:30 p.m.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Sponsored by: Fun Abounds

Moody Gardens Golf Course, a premier public golf course on Galveston Island. The tournament format will be a four-person scramble and will start at noon. The golf package includes 18 holes of golf, carts, practice range, food and beverage; as well as PGA Professional Tournament staff assistance. Once again the Athletics/Aquatics Branch will coordinate the tournament with proceeds helping to support education programs. The emphasis of this tournament is on recreation and networking.

Welcome Social: Wednesday, March 2nd | 6:30-8:30 p.m. | GICC-Exhibit Hall

Sponsored by: Kraftsman and TRAPS East Region

Join our exhibitors, sponsors and friends for a casino night celebrating a bit of Galveston’s “rich” history as a gambling port. Earn “casino cash” to use when the casino tables open by visiting the TRAPS 2016 Expo exhibitors. “Casino cash” earned via visiting exhibitors or table winnings can be used to “buy” chances for raffle prizes including 2017 TRAPS Institute registrations and gift cards.

Texas Parks and Recreation Foundation (TPRF) Auctions: Thursday, March 3rd | 4:15-6 p.m. | GICC-Foyer

TPRF welcomes donations for the live and/or silent auctions. The foundation is seeking gift baskets and other items for these fun and fundraising events, with proceeds going to support student scholarships and institute speakers’ expenses. SILENT and LIVE. All donations should be brought to the foundation booth in the Galveston Island Convention Center Exhibit Hall on Wednesday, March 2, by 4 p.m. For more information, if you have questions, or if you want to make a donation, please contact Al Johnson at (972) 744-4595.

TRAPS Awards Dinner: Thursday, March 3rd | 7-8:30 p.m. | GICC-Ballrooms A & B

Join us for the society’s annual recognition of individuals and organizations that have rendered significant service to TRAPS, have exemplary programs/services, and have made outstanding contributions to the field of recreation, park resources and leisure services.

Director's Social: Thursday, March 3rd | 9-10:30 p.m. | Steward Beach 

Sponsored by: TAAF and TPPC

Your good friends from the Texas Amateur Athletic Federation and the Texas Public Pool Council invite you for a little networking and fun for directors, those who know a director, want to be a director or know how to spell “director.”


Texas Parks and Wildlife Boating Education Instructor Training: Tuesday, March 1st | 1:00 - 4:00 p.m.

In Texas boater education is required for all operators born after September 1, 1993. The basic boating course is easy to incorporate into an existing aquatic program and program materials are provided free-of-charge for instructors. Since the implementation of mandatory boater education in 2011 Texas has seen a 25% drop in boating related accidents and fatalities. In 2014, Texas Parks and Wildlife certified over 14,000 boaters. When you take the Texas Parks and Wildlife Boating Education Instructor Training you will be certified to offer the basic boating course to the public.  For more information click here.


Behind the Scenes of the Moody Gardens Aquarium: Friday, March 4th | 9:00 a.m. - Noon 

This tour offers guests an overview of the daily responsibilities performed by the biologists who care for the animals and maintain the exhibits at Moody Gardens. The tour takes a sneak peek at the four major exhibits at the Aquarium: North Pacific, South Atlantic, Caribbean and Life Support area.  Area biologists will provide explanations of how they care for the animals and the exhibits. At the end of the tour guests are able to go through the Aquarium at their own pace. *This tour is limited to 20 people*

Bolivar Peninsula: Friday, March 4th | 9:00 a.m. - Noon

Join us for an exciting ferry ride and tour of the Bolivar Peninsula. The main focus of the tour is showing the major impacts from Hurricane Ike and the rebuilding that has taken place. There are several key locations that will show the water levels, places people sheltered, beach erosion, evacuation issues, plus the plan for future storms and the areas that have been improved since. We will visit one of the new County facilities for a tour and short presentation with before and after photos from the storm. *The tour is scheduled for 3 hours but could be a little longer depending on ferry travel time. 1 hour will be for lunch, you pay your own, at the Stingaree's Restaurant*

Behind the Scenes of Schlitterbahn Water Park: Friday, March 4th | 9:00 a.m. - Noon

Schlitterbahn Galveston has more than 35 water adventures under one roof.  The tour will focus on the various aspects of the water park such as:

  • The entertainment and adventure components i.e. "Transportainment" River System (tube floating) to Boogie Bahn the surf ride
  • Operations challenges and best practices
  • Marketing to a variety of guests

Hotel Information: code is TRAPS

Hilton Galveston Island Resort ($129)
5400 Seawall Boulevard
Galveston Island, TX 77551
409.744.5000 | 877.425.4753

Holiday Inn Resort on the Beach (S109)
5002 Seawall Boulevard Galveston Island, Texas 77551
409.740.5300 | 800.465.4329

The San Luis Resort Spa and Conference Center ($139)
5222 Seawall Blvd
Galveston Island, TX 77551
409.744.1500 | 800.392.5937

Social Media 

Join Texas Recreation and Park Society on social media: Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | Instagram

Check out past year's conferences!


Physical Address: 18593 FM 1431, Jonestown, TX 78645 | Mailing Address: P.O. Box 5188, Jonestown, TX 78645

Phone: (512) 267-5550 | Fax: (512) 267-5557 | E-mail:  traps@traps.org 

Membership Management by Memberize™
© 2001-2016 Hill Country Technologies, LLC. All rights reserved.
Your session is about to expire...
Login Required
Admin Order Form